## 2016 Annual Recycling Awards

**INDIVIDUAL AWARD**: Kelly Brunson with the Office of Administration's Division of Personnel earned this years' individual award with a combination of her great passion for recycling and rapport with her fellow employees that has developed through her unique sense of humor.

Kelly's supervisor said, "I've never worked with someone who has such passion for recycling and waste reduction. I have no doubt her efforts within our division have made an impact to Missouri's recycling results."

The person nominating Kelly for the award said, "Kelly excels at communicating recycling information to the Division of Personnel by sending out informative emails to our entire office explaining what can and can't be recycled. These emails also include pictures of recycling containers along with information on what should be placed in each container. Everyone in the office knows Kelly is our "go to" recycling person."



Kelly Brunson

**TEAM AWARD**: The Department of Natural Resources' Earth Day Committee (DNR) was selected for the 2016 team award.

Educating attendees of the annual Earth Day event about resource conservation is paramount and nine years ago the Zero Waste Challenge (ZWC) was introduced to the event. One of the long-term goals of the ZWC is to strive for zero waste. The challenge for each year's participants is to reduce the amount of waste (trash and recyclables) as compared to the previous year.

DNR distributes information to participants prior to the event to promote the ZWC. Ideas like pre-cycling are covered where participants are encouraged to only purchase items that can be recycled at the event.

During the Earth Day event all waste (trash and recycled material) is audited and weighed. In the last nine years, approximately 1,500 lbs. of recyclables have been collected and recycled. Since inception of the challenge, the amount of trash collected has been cut by 54% and the per capita waste (trash and recycled material) generated has been reduced by 62%.

The Missouri Interagency Recycling Committee was impressed with the long term commitment and goals applied to the Zero Waste Challenge as well as the results of the ZWC. These were key considerations in the Earth Day Committee's selection for the 2016 award.



Front Row L to R: Commissioner Pearson (OA), Brenda Wansing, Laura Payton, Christa Dickneite, Van Beydler, Hylan Beydler, Susan Bloomer, Renee Bungart. Not Pictured: Larry Archer, Stacy Bandelier, Richard Loaiza, Lisa Nahach, Amy Poos and Kendra Swee