## **2017 Annual Recycling Awards**

**TEAM AWARD**: The Missouri State Recycling Program congratulates Brandt Vocational Enterprises (BVE) on its selection for the 2017 team recycling award. BVE is a sheltered workshop program located at Fulton State Hospital (FSH). BVE began the recycling program at FSH in 1997 and over the past 20 years has

recycled over 3.5 million pounds of material which would be equivalent to 88 tractor trailer loads or over 4 truckloads per year.

Over the past 20 years BVE's efforts to grow recycling programs have created a very strong recycling culture at FSH. BVE's nominator said, "Departments and individual workers have changed the way they discard trash, no longer just 'throwing it away'."



L to R: Chris Holt, Christina Mann, Jeff Galbreath, Pam Leeper, Janie Smith

The Missouri Interagency Recycling Committee was impressed with Brandt Vocational Enterprises long-term

commitment to assuring the success of recycling programs at Fulton State Hospital. This commitment along with establishing recycling as a part of FSH's culture were key to BVE's selection as the team recipient of the 2017 State Recycling Award.

**INDIVIDUAL AWARD**: Chris Terry earned this years' individual award with a combination of his great passion for recycling and rapport with his fellow employees. Chris not only reaches out and coordinates efforts with leaders from various divisions, but strives to maximize productivity while minimizing the time and effort required to keep various recycling systems functioning.

Chris's leadership with recycling at the Highway Patrol has resulted in Troops throughout Missouri having access to recycling services that would not have been available otherwise. Chris has also made sure that many materials are recovered from the waste stream in a way that ensures maximum scrap value.

The Missouri State Recycling Program appreciates Chris's ongoing, long-term leadership to reduce waste throughout operations at the Missouri State Highway Patrol. Congratulations to Chris and his team!



Sitting: Chris Terry | Front Row L to R: Kevin Klug, Larry Fowler, Diana Kempker, Maggie Eichholz, Donna Stovall | Back Row L to R: Jeff Herigon, Chad Buschjost, Darrell Taube, Eric Lecuru