Missouri Budget Explorer logo

Community Colleges

Missouri’s public community colleges include the following 12 institutions (19 campuses): Crowder College in Neosho, East Central College in Union, Jefferson College in Hillsboro, Metropolitan Community College – five campuses in the Kansas City area, Mineral Area College in Park Hills, Moberly Area Community College in Moberly, North Central Missouri College in Trenton, Ozarks Technical Community College in Springfield, St. Charles Community College in St. Peters, St. Louis Community College – four campuses in St. Louis City and County, State Fair Community College in Sedalia, and Three Rivers College in Poplar Bluff.

Division of Workforce Development

The Division of Workforce Development provides services for Missouri businesses, Missouri workers, and Missouri job seekers through the Missouri Job Centers and jobs.mo.gov. The Division of Workforce Development works with a number of strategic partners within Missouri’s Public Workforce System to cultivate resiliency in Missouri’s labor market and to increase the productivity of Missouri's workforce. Details on resources related to workforce services can be found on jobs.mo.gov.

Four Year Institutions

Missouri’s public, four-year institutions of higher education include the following ten institutions:  the University of Central Missouri at Warrensburg, Harris-Stowe State University at St. Louis, Lincoln University at Jefferson City, Missouri Southern State University at Joplin, Missouri Western State University at St. Joseph, Northwest Missouri State University at Maryville, Southeast Missouri State University at Cape Girardeau, Missouri State University at Springfield, Truman State University at Kirksville, and the University of Missouri system.

Higher Education Initiatives

Higher Education Initiatives includes special projects or programs that are not part of an institution’s core budget.  These special initiatives can change from year to year and are broken out to track them separately and report on their performance.  Historically, this included special expansion programs.

Technical College

The State Technical College of Missouri has a statewide mission to offer highly specialized and advanced technical education and training at the certificate and associate degree level.

University of Missouri Related Programs

The Department of Higher Education and Workforce Development budget includes several stand-alone programs that are housed with the University of Missouri.  These programs include 1) University of Missouri - St. Louis International Collaboration; 2) Missouri Telehealth Network; 3) Spinal Cord Injury Program; 4) Missouri Kidney Program; 5) State Historical Society of Missouri; and 6) State Seminary Fund revenue disbursements.